64th Challenge Result (I wish it was mine.)

November 4, 2009

Hello again! I’m going to turn this right over to Alec!

With a couple of last-minute entries by Seth and CuJen after I made my initial selection, here’s my updated choice taking all entries into account!

Sam2U took liberties with syllables:

Turn Ed green with envy,
talking horses are easy,
dangle a carrot.

And CuJen spoke, perhaps, of cars breaking down in unfortunate locations:

…turned green! With envy
I watched the jerk drive right by
and flip me the bird.

Seth’s clever turn on green vs. green was oh-so-close to a winner for me:

Turned green. With envy
over my sporty Prius,
my neighbors did too.

But the equally clever entry from Ben absolutely tickled me with its imagery and irony; so this Haiku from Ben comes out victorious!

…turned green with envy?
What a dumb super-power!
I wish it was mine.

Thanks, Alec! Congratulations, Ben! Our new first line is I wish it was mine. I’m going to work really hard at remembering to post on Monday (really! this time I mean it!), so have at it and I’ll see you then with Ben’s pick.

Yours,
Joanna

6 Responses to “64th Challenge Result (I wish it was mine.)”

  1. Seth Says:

    I wish it was mine.
    Driven to take it? Not quite.
    Envy checked by sloth.

  2. Joanna Says:

    I wish “It” was mine;
    That would make my Stephen King
    collection complete.

  3. thenonconsumeradvocate Says:

    I wish it was mine,
    Cupcake in the store window,
    Smashy, smashy, yum.

  4. laurie Says:

    I wish it was mine.
    And no, smartass, I don’t have
    the penis envy.

  5. Nancy Says:

    I wish it was mine,
    new library DVD.
    Damn. RFID.

  6. Becki Says:

    Feeling maudlin:

    I wish it was mine –
    my fragile hope was your hope;
    my heart stays alone.


Leave a Reply

