Thirteenth Challenge Result (Energy crisis!)

November 10, 2008

Welcome to another haikutastic week! Before we get to Sam2U’s choice, let’s review the current crop of poems with their varied and interesting punctuation choices!

From Becki:

Yet, no, cell service
Cannot hold a candle to
Good old room service.

From Alec:

Yet. No. Cell. Service.
Kirk to Enterprise. Scotty?
No response. Marooned!

From Q:

Yet, no cell service
Quiet in the trees above.
Squirrel drops a nut.

Three haiku from Ben:

…yet? No. Cell service
contracts are impossible!
Can you hear me now?

and

“Yet no cell service,”
squawked the parrot just before
he fell from his perch.

and

Yet no cell service
can bridge the gap between me
and your cold cold heart

From michelle:

Yet … No! Cell service
will ne’er replace the beauty
of words on paper.

From Sarah L.:

Yet no cell? Service
contracts can lead to murder.
Jail time anyone?

And from HAM!:

Yet no cell service?
I know not the name! I have
Verizon Wireless!

And now let’s turn things over to Sam2U:

It was hard to narrow down a choice with Q’s nature observations and tempting closing line, Michelle’s call for beauty, Alec’s Trek down memory lane, and Ben’s cold, cold heart for sticking a Hank Williams Sr. song in my head..

But, jenny t’s is my choice for the poetic use and understanding of ‘mitochondria.’

Yet, no cell service.
Mitochondria on strike.
Energy crisis!

PS the abbreviated version excusing my lack of wit:

Too much wine last night
has robbed me of cleverness.
Give it to Jenny

Thanks, Sam2U! And congratulations to jenny t! Okay, folks, our new first line is Energy crisis; have at it! I will be back on Monday with jenny’s choice.

Yours,
Joanna

11 Responses to “Thirteenth Challenge Result (Energy crisis!)”

  1. Alec Says:

    Energy crisis
    Three hundred papers to grade
    Not enough coffee

  2. HAM! Says:

    Energy crisis!
    Huffing and puffing uphill.
    Where’s my Luna bar?

  3. Alec Says:

    Energy cri, sis!
    “Wonder Twin Powers Activ…!”
    …too late. Water’s out.

  4. Zoe Trope Says:

    Energy crisis
    meant something else back then: what,
    no matches? oh no!

  5. Ben Says:

    Energy crisis,
    nothing can rouse me from bed.
    Do I smell bacon?

  6. jenny t Says:

    Energy crisis!
    “We’ll leave the light on for you.”
    Please don’t, Motel 6.

    (I know I can’t win because I’m judging, I’m just addicted to haiku now so had to submit something to soothe the syllables jangling in my head.)

  7. Joanna Says:

    Energy crisis,
    Don’t wanna talk to people.
    Staying in pjs.

  8. HAM! Says:

    En… er…Gy? Crisis!
    I don’t know how to spell gon!
    Bye, bye spelling bee.

  9. Alec Says:

    Energy Crisis
    Migraine crushes my brain cells
    I can’t remember…

  10. Kevin Moore Says:

    Energy crisis!
    And a head full of lice is
    How I spent age six.

  11. Ben Says:

    Energy crisis?
    Hell no! Red bull and cocaine.
    Heart’s gonna explode.


Leave a Reply

